Coaching Information, Rules

Coaching session 26/2 HTB

03 March 2025

Holding the Ball

  1. Correct HTB FK. ME has had a prior opportunity to dispose. He evades the tackle and is correctly tackled.

https://www.loom.com/share/ab842e91451f4d858c28317214cb7e60?sid=cf40fb47-c662-4c6f-aefe-a98a36d99207

  1. Correct HTB. Prior opportunity. Edithvale has run a distance with the ball, bouncing twice. The ball has not been correctly disposed of. Is it 50m?

https://www.loom.com/share/11ac69ee2a234bf58e537715e1f91ddd?sid=7524dfd5-366b-4a18-b9db-6b58d3d93928

  1. Missed HTB. Edithvale attempts to evade/fend off the tackle. He barges through the pack and does not dispose of the ball correctly. If in doubt do not pay.

https://www.loom.com/share/928a74a9ea78494ead8d7cc6491e5e3d?sid=6f2390d9-782c-471f-9afe-4d8de3db3f26

  1. Missed HTB. Edithvale has had prior opportunity by attempting to evade the tackle. Once tackled correctly he does not dispose of the ball correctly. This could be paid by support.

https://www.loom.com/share/9174137cf28a4837a3343835c3c7fd27?sid=f3a82883-c725-4ff2-be8b-59251519d3d6

  1. UW HTB. Edithvale has not had a prior opportunity and it is debatable as to whether he has dived on the ball or dragged it back in. Ball up is the preferred decision.

https://www.loom.com/share/0aad7326b8694b41b3701a7de225c9a9?sid=dbea46fa-fd07-4a73-9d1d-1ce9d945262a

  1. Missed HTB. Chelsea takes possession of the ball and then elects to fend off his Edithvale opponent constituting prior opportunity. He then does not dispose of the ball correctly.

https://www.loom.com/share/fe06aa7c63034334a77ad8d5ec36e9b1?sid=4491402d-7a57-4b9d-a14c-4313b886a61a

 

  1. Correct HTB. ME takes possession and immediately fends off the oncoming tackler. He is then tackled correctly and does not dispose of the ball correctly (assume this).

https://www.loom.com/share/0fef463faf854b7b93d611a4599497b5?sid=1577b923-3eef-46fb-a6a9-21584a935c06

 

  1. Correct HTB. A player who dives on top of the ball, or drags the ball under their body, must immediately knock it clear (if it is under them) or correctly dispose (if they have taken possession by dragging/diving) when they are legally tackled. In this case despite being already on the ground D clearly drags the ball under his body.

https://www.loom.com/share/df22e228a989409b87c683a92b405476?sid=a714e8d9-e779-496b-b8f3-b7d99e7b8722

  1. Unwarranted HTB. Although ME has had a prior opportunity to dispose, he does dispose of the ball correctly (assume so) and thus the call should be play on.

https://www.loom.com/share/7066e4a16bd0427594d5f3513d47ccfe?sid=1927cd4e-c13a-422c-9b83-81172e5c0e85

  1. Unwarranted HTB. Pearcedale picks the ball up and immediately attempts to dispose of the ball. He does not have a prior opportunity and thus regardless of the fact that the ball is not disposed of correctly, the correct call is play on.

https://www.loom.com/share/fb2b74aa906a4241bb4e4128ebf50ff2?sid=27468a9d-5029-4c47-a30e-9eee8ed284f5

  1. Correct HTB. Hastings takes possession of the ball and upon doing so evades the oncoming Chelsea tackle by raising his arms in the air (protecting the ball). The tackle is legal and the ball is not disposed of correctly. Holding the ball is the correct decision.

https://www.loom.com/share/e4c53fffd2c24649a9be64a93842bac5?sid=2a36cfe6-4c46-41ae-a498-cfc49744defb

  1. Correct HTB. Sorrento makes no genuine attempt to dispose of the ball. In this case the umpire could have waited a fraction longer to blow the whistle for a free kick, however it is clear that whilst Sorrento has arms free and can dispose of the ball, whilst being tackled legally he does not do so.

https://www.loom.com/share/faf13d583f154dd7b93c6bb2c4c0e10d?sid=f88f350d-b1a2-49b6-8271-a8cbb92693d9

Coaching session 26/2 HTB